Toddler Tuesday: Planting Flowers

Toddler Tuesday: Planting Flowers

Hi friends, we’ve got a sunny little Toddler Tuesday today!  This morning Junebug and I camped out on our warm, sunny front porch and planted a pot of flowers.  I hope to plant some more flowers before summer rolls around, I just have to figure out what’s growing in our new yard currently so I know if I need to add to the flower beds or if they’ll be full.  There’s definitely a lot of stuff coming up, I just don’t know what it is!  We’ll for sure have to get some more pots and do some plants on our stairs in the front!

DSCN1251edit

We haven’t unpacked our gardening stuff yet, so we improvised and used a Tupperware scoop to fill the pot instead of a shovel.  I think that worked out nicely for Junebug, as it had higher sides so she was less likely to spill the dirt.  She enjoyed scooping and dumping and by the end she was getting some pretty decent scoops!

DSCN1252edit DSCN1254edit DSCN1253edit

We planted Zinnias, which I don’t think I’ve ever grown before, so I’m excited to see how they turn out!  Junebug had a hard time pouring the water, so I helped.  I’ve been trying to find a small watering can so she can do it on her own, but I cant seem to find any stores that carry them.  (Anyone know where I can find a little mini watering can?)  Now that I think of it, she might have one in her sand box.  I’ll have to check out there this afternoon.  😛

DSCN1258edit

DSCN1263edit

We had hoped to put the pot on the table in front of our big front window so Junebug could watch the flowers from inside her playroom, but it’s super shady there, so we have them sitting around the corner.  We’ll be reading books and coloring out in that corner now that the weather is nicer, so she’ll still get to see them.

DSCN1265edit

We’re planning on asking our landlord if we can build a small garden in the backyard cause it’s super sunny, so hopefully more planting happens soon!  I’m sure Junebug will love getting in there and helping us out!

xoxo Megan

One thought on “Toddler Tuesday: Planting Flowers

Leave a Reply

