What’s Cooking Wednesday: Cream of Tomato Soup

What’s Cooking Wednesday: Cream of Tomato Soup

Hey Friends!  Today is my first ever What’s Cooking Wednesday!  I planned on making something a bit more… elaborate…. but to be honest, I’m feeling SUPER pregnant this evening, so I opted for a more simple, but still blog worthy dinner.

Joseph isn’t a huge fan of tomato soup from a can, so every once in a while when I make grilled cheese, I like to spruce up the simplicity of the meal by using a homemade tomato soup recipe.  This one is pretty simple, and doesn’t take a lot of time to make, and it was hubby approved, so the recipe has earned it’s spot in my recipe box.  I’m not sure where I found it, probably Pinterest, but I wrote it on a recipe card a while back and didn’t put the source on it.  I may have it pinned on my recipe board.  If I find it, I’ll add the link later!

This recipe called for:

1 large can of stewed tomatoes (I used diced)

1/2 cup finely diced onions

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp flour

1 1/2 cups milk

Directions:

Combine tomatoes, onions, sugar salt and pepper in a large sauce pan.  Simmer for 10 minutes over low heat.

DSCN1335edit

In a small saucepan, melt butter, add flour and stir in milk.  Stir constantly until thickened.

DSCN1336edit  DSCN1338edit

Slowly add milk and flour mixture into tomatoes, stirring constantly.  Heat through

DSCN1340edit

My recipe left it at that, but I’m thinking that I may have missed a step when writing the recipe down, since it’s called Cream of Tomato Soup… So I used a ladle and put the contents of the pan into the blender and made a puree.

DSCN1341edit

Here’s the finished product, complete with grilled cheese sandwich.  Joseph and Junebug both enjoyed dinner, so I call it a win!

DSCN1343edit

2 thoughts on “What’s Cooking Wednesday: Cream of Tomato Soup

Leave a Reply

